Re: Weiss Lake Fishing Report for 2-13-2002

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ North Alabama Fishing Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Alan Brown on February 20, 2002 at 19:40:05:

In Reply to: Re: Weiss Lake Fishing Report for 2-13-2002 posted by Steve on February 20, 2002 at 16:59:16:

Well, I tell you, Steve should get an award for area promoter of the year. That isn't meant sarcastically either. I dropped by their booth at the Cincinnati boat show last year and this year. I started thinking of this last year and readily planning this trip about two months ago. I admit, I was so excited about this trip and going down to fishing heaven that it is possible I let my "wants" get ahead of my better sense. This little bird inside kept whispering to me with bad feelings about going, but I didn't listen. Now, I've been driving boats and fishing since I was 6 years old (45 now) and I told Steve (after the fact) that when I hear "low water" and "half off prop sales", and then when I read "there was not enough water upriver to get into the coves" that that was directed to the "hurry up get there get outta my way 60 mph Bassbusters" so I relate to experiences I've had in the past with low water levels, and figure that I'll still be able to find places to fish. I'd already been told by another fisherman getting ready to go out that morning that a good place to go was one creek up on the left. When I came out of the no wake zone at Riverside and went about 50 yards and started my left turn it wasn't long before I started chopping sand (mud, dirt, etc.) Of course, you couldn't see bottom, but I was reading 2 ft on the sounder - been there before, no problem; raise the motor up and keep on "easing" on, figuring I'm gonna get in deep water pretty soon. I see nothing but sand bar to my right between me and what I figure is the main channel for as far as I can see up and down the lake wondering "how in the world do you get to the main lake?", fine homes to my left, scratching my head won