Re: Guntersville Crappie

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ North Alabama Fishing Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Alex on October 26, 2006 at 21:51:05:

In Reply to: Re: Guntersville Crappie posted by Flytyer on October 26, 2006 at 08:00:46:

Flytyer, I am sorry to say that Kerry and I did not take a water temp reading. Normally I do but I guess once you get on fish, you tend to forget. Just by feel I would guess in mid to upper 60's. Based on my computer data, 64.3 would be my true guess. To answer your question about crappie being that deep this time of year can only be my opinion. I am no expert but I will share my thoughts and past experiences based on catch rates and data collected.

Crappie normally will be grouping up out on the main channels and creek mouths in late summer. For the exact reason I am not sure but I do believe they are recovering from the past spawning season and high water temps during the summer months. Every year a special thing happens and that is the "thread fin shad" migrations. In the late summer early fall, threadfin shad start to group up in large schools and can be found in the back end of coves or pockets. Once the water starts to really cool down the shad will migrate back out onto the main river channels and will stack up on channel bends and secondary points. The depth of the crappie normally will depend on where the shad are located. When Kerry and I went the other day, shad were not a factor but the bream were. I think just about every fish I cleaned the other night had one or two small bluegill in their stomachs.