NAFF Fishing Articles Page       NAFF Home Page       NAFF Message board

Sauger Techniques
By Alex

It was not to many years ago my wife realized how crazy some people really are! The alarm clock goes off and the numbers read 3:30 AM. As the covers are pulled off and my feet planted firmly on the ground, I stood up and stretched. My wife looked up at me and said, “I have married a “CRAZY MAN”. Later that day, I would remind her of that comment!  As I went into the kitchen, I read the indoor/outdoor thermometer. It read 19F. I turned on the weather channel and the forecast for that day was a high of 28F and north winds at 15-20 mph. Sleet and snow was also in the forecast. For most people, this would be a good time to fill the wood boxes, rent some movies and stay inside. As for the “CRAZY MAN”, well this is the time to catch Sauger.

Let me start off by saying, “ I am no expert on Sauger fishing”. I have been fishing for Sauger about fifteen years now, so I will share with you what I have learned. Hopefully, there will be some information you might be able to use in the future to improve your catch.

Over the years I have come to one conclusion and that is Sauger are “staging” fish. What I mean by staging is, Sauger will hold at different depths according to water temperature, current flows and availability of forage. The key to having success is to know the water temperature, and current flow.

I will be referencing a lot to the Tennessee River because this is the area I fish primarily; but the following techniques will work on any river impoundment that has hydroelectric power plants. One of my favorite places to fish is above Ditto Landing. Here the river has many bends in the channel and has a lot of rock and sand bars. The lake contours in this area have a lot of depth changes and this also makes for a great Sauger habitat. The depth changes on the contours are where the staging effect comes into play.